NAR Executive Committee 2019


Dr. C. Robert Horsburgh, Jr.

Dr. Robert Horsburgh's career has been dedicated to understanding and preventing mycobacterial diseases, particularly drug-resistant tuberculosis and tuberculosis in HIV-infected persons. He is an experienced TB clinician and his research has focused on TB clinical and epidemiologic research and clinical trials. He served as Chairman of the infectious Diseases Society of America’s TB Committee, Chairman of the Steering Committee of the U.S. Tuberculosis Trials Consortium (TBTC), Chairman of the Steering Committee of the U.S. Tuberculosis Epidemiologic Studies Consortium (TBESC) and Co-Chair of the “Access and Appropriate Use Work Group” of the Gates Foundation’s Critical Path to TB Drug Regimens Initiative. He is a member of the U.S. Advisory Committee for the Elimination of Tuberculosis (ACET), which advises CDC on tuberculosis control and elimination strategy. In addition, he is Co-Chairman of the Drug-Resistance Working Group of the IUATLD, Chair of the MDR/XDR-TB Working Group of the TBTC, and Chairman of the Steering Committee of Research Excellence to Stop TB Resistance (RESIST-TB), an international organization that advocates for clinical trials of Drug-resistant TB (

Vice-President and Program Chair

Dr. Lisa V. Adams

Dr. Lisa V. Adams is the Associate Dean for Global Health and an Associate Professor of Medicine in the Section of Infectious Disease and International Health at Dartmouth’s Geisel School of Medicine. She oversees Dartmouth College’s Global Health Initiative at the John Sloan Dickey Center for International Understanding and is the Director of Dartmouth's Center for Health Equity. In all her roles, she develops and oversees cross-cutting global health programs involving faculty and students. She has worked in domestic and international TB control for over 20 years with expertise in pediatric TB, TB program monitoring and evaluation, and person-centered TB care delivery. She is the former Director of Surveillance for the New York City Department of Health’s TB Control Program. As an international TB consultant, she has worked in over a dozen countries to provide technical assistance to Ministries of Health. She has been a co-investigator on several clinical and operations research trials on TB and HIV through the DarDar Programs, a collaboration between Dartmouth and Muhimbili University in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. She is currently engaged with local partners in Tanzania to improve delivery of TB care services to children and persons living with HIV.


Dr. Sarah Brode

Dr. Sarah Brode is a clinician investigator and an assistant professor of medicine at the University of Toronto. She is the Physician Lead of the Tuberculosis Program at West Park Healthcare Centre, and is also a staff Respirologist and a clinician in the NTM program at Toronto Western Hospital (University Health Network), in Toronto, Canada. Her research focuses on epidemiology, treatment, and outcomes in tuberculosis and nontuberculous mycobacterial disease.


Dr. Kevin Schwartzman

Dr. Kevin Schwartzman is director of the Respiratory Division and Professor of Medicine at McGill University.  He is a clinician-investigator at the Montreal Chest Institute and the McGill International TB Centre, with longstanding clinical and research interest in TB.  His research has focused on TB epidemiology, and the cost-effectiveness of TB-related interventions in a variety of settings.  He is currently Vice-Chair of the TB Section of the Union.

Immediate Past-President

Dr. Victoria Cook

Dr. Victoria Cook received her Bachelor's Degree from Brown University. She obtained her medical degree and Internal Medicine training from the University of British Columbia, and completed a fellowship in Respirology at the University of Manitoba. Dr. Cook is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Canada (Internal Medicine and Respirology). She has been based at the BC Centre for Disease Control, Division of TB Control since 2002 and is now the Medical Lead, Provincial TB Services. She is particularly interested in the implementation and evaluation of novel strategies to control tuberculosis (TB) in high-risk populations. Dr. Cook is also a member of the Respiratory Division at Vancouver General Hospital and is an Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Medicine at UBC. She is the co-chair of the British Columbia TB Strategic Committee, working to implement the Provincial Strategic Plan for TB Prevention, Treatment and Control.

Immediate Past Vice –President and Program Chair

Dr. James Johnston

Dr. James Johnston is a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Medicine at University of British Columbia and BC Centre for Disease Control. He completed Internal Medicine training at McGill University and a Respiratory Medicine Fellowship at UBC. He received postdoctoral training in tuberculosis research at British Columbia Centre for Disease Control, and has a Master’s in Public Health from Harvard School of Public Health. His clinical interests include treatment of tuberculosis and nontuberculous mycobacterial disease. His tuberculosis research focus includes foreign-born risk factors for tuberculosis disease and the role of whole genome sequencing in understanding tuberculosis transmission dynamics. He received the Michael Smith Scholarship in 2014. Dr. Johnston has been a member of the Union’s NAR abstract committee for the past two years, and has been an abstract chair and session moderator for the Union’s international meeting.


Dr. Menn Biagtan

Menn Biagtan is the Vice-President, Health Initiatives and Programs of the British Columbia Lung Association, overseeing the Association’s lung health initiatives’ local, national and international projects. In her two decades with the BC Lung Association, she has served on numerous committees, working groups and panels to advance lung health. Her main focus is on public health and health policy development particularly in the field of air quality and tobacco. One of her many responsibilities is managing the various activities of the Union-North America Region. She has been organizing the annual conference of the (which today is considered as the premier TB conference in North America) since 1998.


Mr. Christopher Lam

Christopher Lam is the President and CEO of the British Columbia Lung Association, one of Canada’s most highly respected health agencies. Mr. Lam graduated with honours from the School of Communication at Simon Fraser University. He has spent the previous twelve years working at the BC Lung Association and has also spent time working for Paramount Pictures Canada. Chris is currently on the Board of Directors of the Alliance for Healthy Living and is also serving on numerous national committees and working groups. Chris has an interest in many areas of public health, health policy development and in particular in air quality and tobacco control, two areas in which the Lung Association is a recognized leader.



Page Last Updated: 21/03/2019